Differences between revisions 2 and 3
⇤ ← Revision 2 as of 2009-09-11 04:04:08 →
Size: 1799
Editor: JonCo
Comment:
← Revision 3 as of 2009-09-15 07:08:45 → ⇥
Size: 2481
Editor: thog
Comment:
Deletions are marked like this. Additions are marked like this.
Line 4: Line 4:
Instruction to desingn bitmap image in Paintshop program == Using MS Paint ==
 1. Open logo in Paintshop and design bmp image
 1. From the menus, select Image->Attribute.
  * Units = Pixels
  * Set the Width to a value lower than 512. You will need to adjust the height value accordingly.
  * Colors = Black and white (This is a must. This changes the image to 1-bit colour)
 1. From the menus, select Image->Invert Colors
 1. From the menus, select Image->Flip/Rotate. The image needs to be rotated by 270 degree
 1. Save the image as Monocrome bitmap file
 1. From a Linux terminal, run {{{ bmplogo logo.bmp }}}. The output will be called '''out.img'''
 1. Send out.img to the docket printer {{{
lpr -P docket out.img }}}
 1. Test the logo by printing a special file with the correct control characters to the same printer {{{
lpr -P docket /home/usr/danny/mods/docket-logo/logo-print.prn }}}
''' '''
Line 6: Line 20:
1. Open logo in Paintshop and design bmp image == Using Gimp ==
''' '''''''''
Line 8: Line 23:
2. Maximum horizontal pixels=512

3. Set Bitmap Size:

select image-> attribute

select units->pixels

set colurs= Black and white ( if necessary)

4. The image needs to be inverted and rotation by 270 degree

select image->invert clours

select image->flip/rotate

select roatate by angle

slect 270 270 degrees

5. Save the image as Monocrome bitmap file

6. Run this command in a shell, this command will make '''out.img''' file

bmplogo <filename > ( filename is the name of the bitmap image you just saved)

7. Now send this image to printer

'''lpr -P lp1 out.img''' (lp1 is just a example of printerqueue, it depends on individual machine)

8. To test print

Get the file called /docket-logo/logo-print.prn file from somewhere eg: '''lpr -P /home/usr/danny/mods/docket-logo/logo-print.prn'''

''''''
 1. Use GIMP to create the design {{{
gimp }}}
 1. From the menus, select Filters->Colors->Value Invert. This needs to be done BEFORE the next step
 1. From the menus, select Image->Mode->Indexed
  * Choose "Use black and white (1-bit) palette" option
 1. From the menus, select Image->Scale Image
  * Ensure the units are in Pixels
  * Ensure that the width is no more than 512
 1. From the menus, select Image->Transform->Rotate 90 degrees CCW
 1. Save the image as a bmp
 1. Perform Steps 6-8 from the "Using MS Paint" instructions
Line 52: Line 42:
If using GIMP, it is imperative that you invert the colours before converting to 1-bit pallette. Otherwise, you can invert the colours all youwant, but the printout will not be affected !!
Line 53: Line 44:

Adding Logo in a Docket

If the customer wants their Docket Printer to print their company logo in each docket they print. For this we have to get a logo from customer ( preferably soft copy not hard copy/ better if we don't have to scan), then we will customize the logo in our format and send it to printer memory.

Using MS Paint

  1. Open logo in Paintshop and design bmp image
  2. From the menus, select Image->Attribute.

    • Units = Pixels
    • Set the Width to a value lower than 512. You will need to adjust the height value accordingly.
    • Colors = Black and white (This is a must. This changes the image to 1-bit colour)
  3. From the menus, select Image->Invert Colors

  4. From the menus, select Image->Flip/Rotate. The image needs to be rotated by 270 degree

  5. Save the image as Monocrome bitmap file
  6. From a Linux terminal, run  bmplogo logo.bmp . The output will be called out.img

  7. Send out.img to the docket printer

    lpr -P docket out.img 
  8. Test the logo by printing a special file with the correct control characters to the same printer

    lpr -P docket /home/usr/danny/mods/docket-logo/logo-print.prn 

Using Gimp

  1. Use GIMP to create the design

    gimp 
  2. From the menus, select Filters->Colors->Value Invert. This needs to be done BEFORE the next step

  3. From the menus, select Image->Mode->Indexed

    • Choose "Use black and white (1-bit) palette" option
  4. From the menus, select Image->Scale Image

    • Ensure the units are in Pixels
    • Ensure that the width is no more than 512
  5. From the menus, select Image->Transform->Rotate 90 degrees CCW

  6. Save the image as a bmp
  7. Perform Steps 6-8 from the "Using MS Paint" instructions

Note: to test print in other machine

eg : cat logo-print.prn | ssh ccc@servername "cat>/dev/lp0"

Things that can go wrong

If some reason, the printer crashes or power failure , make sure you have backup of out.img file to resend it printer again.

If using GIMP, it is imperative that you invert the colours before converting to 1-bit pallette. Otherwise, you can invert the colours all youwant, but the printout will not be affected !! Also, if your logo is missing a few pixels on the right side, there is a bug in bmplogo, add 8 pixels to the right of your image (this will not appear on the printer) to temporarily work around this bug. The programmers should get this fixed soon.

Docket_Logo (last edited 2013-09-18 06:09:34 by localhost)